What do I Weigh?

“You wanna fly, you got to give up the shit that weighs you down.”
― Toni MorrisonSong of Solomon

Everyone I talk to and everything I read says “do not weight yourself everyday.” Well, you know what? I weigh myself every day. If I didn’t I think I’d weigh a ton. My eating doesn’t always correspond with my weight gain and it helps me to have a regulator. Weight can fluctuate from day to day depending on several factors such as alcohol intake, salt intake, water retention, hormones, the moon time for women and on and on. 

I have kept a record of my weight in a notebook, off and on since September 2006. It motivates me to shift my eating and increase exercise. I understand that weight fluctuates. Weighing myself is a symbol, a way to chart, and a measurable goal. I don’t want to take my measurements daily. The scale is great feedback.

  As I look back over my daily weight chart, I see that my lowest recorded weight was on November 19, 2008. I wonder what was happening then. I’ll have to go back through my journal. That was the year I traveled to Japan and also Ireland to facilitate workshops. It was a fun year.

When I told Luke, my trainer that I weigh myself daily, he shared it would be a good idea to compare my weight from one day of the week to the next. I thought this was brilliant. So this Wednesday morning I weighed myself and compared to last Wednesday. I am down three pounds! Now, Domingo is ready to walk me and then I’m off to the gym to see Luke!

Weigh or not, you can find the measureable feedback you need to keep yourself on track.

 Iwannabeaskinnybitch!

 In another blog I’ll talk about loving self-talk. This is critical to a healthy shift in your weight. 

5 Comments on “What do I Weigh?”

  1. Scott says:

    When dieting, we weigh ourselves every day too. We just make sure it is at the exact same time each day and then we can see a little progress.

  2. skonrath says:

    I don’t weigh myself, haven’t owned a scale for at least 15 years. I listen to my body and the results are okay, I feel good. I believe in setting intentions instead of all that goal-setting,makes me happier.
    But you have to do what makes you feel good – and if that’s weighing yourself every day, so what?

  3. Jen says:

    I do not on a scale. The only time that I get weighed is when I go to the doctor. Lol The reason for that is I’ve always been heavier then I look. For me stepping on the scale brings about a bout of depression because it has been so ingrained that I should only weigh 125 pounds. the reality is I don’t. Lol but I’m perfectly happy with the way I look until I step on the scale. I think it’s wonderful to do whatever keeps you motivated and on the track to staying healthy thanks for sharing.

  4. Dawn says:

    Your trainer is very wise. Although he knows all the reasons why you should not weigh every day, he cleverly got you to focus on only one day of the week for comparison.

    I don’t own a scale either…I hate to weigh in even at a doctor’s office. The mirror and the fit of my clothes are enough for me. The mirror also helps to remind me when I’ve slacked off on my exercise.

    When I lived in China, Malaysia and Korea, my weight was never a problem. I think it was because I was walking more and the local diets were more healthy (although nowadays, those countries are facing the same obesity issues as they become more “modern”).

    The bottom line is that you have found what works for you to manage your weight, and that is what is important.

  5. LeslieZ says:

    I also do not own a scale. Weight has never been an issue for me, maybe because of my high metabolism. That is up until about 4 years ago. Now I understand what people mean when they say “I have a muffin top” because I do have one. Ugghhhh

    I agree with Dawn that the way my clothes fit and how I look in the mirror tell me all I need to know about my weight. And what it is telling me is to eat better and exercise more.

    Now I just need to do it!

    LeslieZ


Leave a Reply

