Scalp Acupuncture!

Thank God for acupuncture. It’s been around for 2000 years. It’s not going anyplace and people use it all of the time for a variety of cures and to avoid illnesses.     – Tim Daly

Over the years I have referred many clients of mine (as a mental health and chemical dependency counselor) to acupuncture. It has been such a gift in my life. Many years ago when I worked at TASC (Treatment Alternatives to Street Crime) we had a contract to work with women who were addicted to heroin. I was the one who would be administering the treatment. In preparation I went to Pine Lodge Prison to talk with a woman there who was providing acupuncture to inmates.

When I went into the area she set up as a clinic, there were maybe 25 chairs in a circle. She and a coworker and I were invited to sit down and she would be with us in a minute. She went around putting small acupuncture needles in the ears, hands and feet of the inmates. Then she came to me. I tend to be somewhat stand-offish at first and have good boundaries. Before I could resist, this young, energetic, confident, beautiful young woman, put needles in me! 

I sat there processing what was happening and tried to stay professional. After a few minutes she said she didn’t have time to talk with me and handed me some papers about acupuncture and heroin addition.

I was set back and not very happy about the situation until I got about half way back to the office. All of the sudden, I had all this energy and felt peace come over me. This continued for the rest of the day. I felt centered, relaxed and my mind was clear. I loved it.

I called her later and set up an appointment. When she was living in Spokane and when she visited, I saw her as often as I could. Sometimes I would see her for acupuncture, but mostly because she has become my very best friend.

Feel great!

Feel great!

Now I am seeing Dr. Song for acupuncture. After I weaned myself from the Hydrocodone from my oral surgery, I took ibuprofen. It helped a little, but my energy was low and my pain was high. When I went to see Dr. Song, he did Scalp Acupuncture! It was amazing. It reminded me of the very first time I had acupuncture.

When the needles were placed in my scalp, I could feel the energy moving down my arms and down the trunk of my body, down my legs and out my feet. Having been focused on the pain in my mouth and the constant headache for days, this felt heavenly.

Scalp Acupuncture!

Scalp Acupuncture!

If you have not tried acupuncture, I strongly recommend it. Many who struggle with health issues, with depression or obesity have a lot of energy stuck in their body. You don’t feel like moving, you have no desire to do anything, and everything takes effort. Acupuncture can open up channels of energy and bring you back into balance.

Having this blog experience chronicling increasing health and exercise and losing weight has been incredible. For those following along, I hope you are getting the benefits of increased health. I would love to hear your experiences.

Iwannabeaskinnybitch!

5 Comments on “Scalp Acupuncture!”

  1. Ouch! Doesn’t that hurt Candess? And did you lose weight that way too? 😉 ❤

  2. No it doesn’t hurt Elly and I have a low pain threshold and am the one who faints at needles. If there is discomfort it comes from the ache when the energy moves or feeling the electricity run down my arm or leg and out. It is really great. It is good for weight loss. At this time I am using it to just get energy moving so I feel like going to the gym and walking.

  3. Now, that looks painful! But as long as it works for you, then more power to ya!

  4. I have never tried acupuncture. The thought makes me squeamish. However, I have experienced a lot of positive effects from therapeutic massage. What used to be called alternative medicine in my young adulthood (I’m 61) is now mainstream, and we are better for it. I have learned never to say never and will not rule out acupuncture in my future.


Leave a Reply

