Daughters of the Bottle

“Why not ask a Loving Parent to help us reclaim our childhood innocence and to live more gently today?” 

 ACA WSO INC. –  Adult Children of Alcoholics/Dysfunctional Families

This week there has been a theme of addiction with my clients. Alcoholism and drug addiction affect the whole family. I remember when I first became a chemical dependency counselor back in the early 1980s. One of the poems I loved was this one. Maybe you can relate.

Daughters of the Bottle 

until I was twenty-two

I didn’t think anyone else

had a drunk for a mother

then I met lori, joannie and susan

I recognized them immediately

by their stay away smiles

they were leaders in their work

competent imposters

like me

who would say they were sorry

if somebody bumped into them

on a crowded street

I call on them

once in awhile

they always come

children of alcoholics

always do

Jane Middleton-Moz

Juggler in A Mirror


3 Comments on “Daughters of the Bottle”

  1. Nate says:

    Hi Candess –

    Love your message and your poem today. Appreciate you sharing this!

  2. aingham69 says:

    Well written poem, with a very clear message. Thanks for sharing.

  3. “…their stay away smiles …” sadly worn, Candess, by so many young girls, in particular, shamefully hiding secrets. There needs to be more open conversations to help young victims of their parents challenges realize that they are not alone and more important – it is NOT their fault. Thank you for the beautiful, albeit difficult, reminder.
    HUGS ❤


Leave a comment